Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Raymond E Feist - Riftwars


Dark Fantasy, sometimes a bit predictable with a so so ending, but overall enjoyable and worth a re-visit.

The majority of Feist's works are part of The Riftwar Cycle, and feature the worlds of Midkemia and Kelewan. Human magicians and other creatures on the two planets are able to create rifts between these worlds and end up fighting each other. Yeah. That happens

Dungeons and Dragons

The original Riftwars sage is well known. The original works of Feist were inspired by / based upon his Dungeons and Dragons gaming days, which took a bit of inspiration from the Tekumel books. Nevertheless, this isn't yet another generic D&D based series of novels.

The Empire trilogy was better than expected, though I guess book 3 wasn’t entirely necessary. Especially the final chapter of book 3 could have been done better.

I read of few of these in Dutch, but I actually prefer the English books. The covers and especially titles of the dutch versions were... nah. Just nah. And I simply can't think of (m)any cases where the translations were better than the originals.

For the moment, I’m Feist-tired. I tried number 14, Krondor - The Betrayal but it would not hold my attention. Perhaps later. 


  1. Magician - Apprentice
  2. Magician - Master
  3. Silverthorn
  4. A darkness at Sethanon
  5. Daughter of the Empire
  6. Servant of the Empire
  7. Mistress of the Empire
  8. Prince of the blood
  9. The king’s buccaneer
  10. Shadow of a dark queen
  11. Rise of a merchant prince
  12. Rage of a demon king
  13. Shards of a broken crown

Dapper / TellTales! 3 / TellTales! 63

No comments:

Post a Comment