Friday, April 30, 2021

It's... Complicated - Netflix - Fate / Evangelion / Sword Art Online - viewing order

Some anime series can get rather complex... And some of those series made it to NetFlix.

I haven't seen the following (yet) but I thought it best to start with figuring out the proper viewing order. So, as far as I can tell...


Fate started as a visual novel, then became manga, game, anime series and anime movies. Some parts can be found on Netflix

1. Fate / Zero

2. Fate / Stay Night - Series - Consider skipping, not on Netflix NL

3. Fate / Stay Night - Unlimited Blade Works - Series

4. Fate / Stay Night - Heaven's Feel - Movie, not on Netflix NL

The regular Fate / Stay Night series of 2006, made by Deen, is said to be of poorer quality in animation and scripting, and several sites suggest to skip it.

Next three in any order:

5. Fate / Apochrypha - Series

6. Fate / Extra - Last Encore

7. Fate / Grand Order - First Order


Netflix runs the director's cut of episodes 21 to 24, so the regular order will do. Episodes 21 to 24 contain material of Death True^2.

Death True^2 itself is a more of a summary of the series with some additional plot points, preparing for the movies Death and Rebirth.

1. Neon Genesis Evangelion - Series

2. Death True^2 - Movie - Optional

3. Rebirth - Movie - Optional, not on Netflix NL

4. End of Evangelion - Movie

Sword Art Online

Seasons 1, 2, and the first movie are available on Netflix.

1. Season 1: Sword Art Online - Series - Season 1

2. Sword Art Online: Extra Edition - Not on Netflix NL

3. Season 2: Sword Art Online - Series - Season 2

4. Sword Art Online Alternative: Gun Gale Online - Not on Netflix NL

5. Sword Art Online Movie: Ordinal Scale - Movie

6. Season 3: Sword Art Online - Alicization - Not on Netflix NL

No comments:

Post a Comment